Animal Stories

Animal Stories · 17. February 2020
The shenanigans and escapades of our beloved Great Dane Saskia will feature frequently in my posts. She was brimming with character and embraced a number of interesting quirks, not the least of which was stomping avidly on ants. This story is about the time she could have caused a Major Incident. Quite possibly an International Incident. It’s maybe not as exciting as it sounds, but hey, that’s the hook. I work with what I have. Saskia was one of those timid Danes. She wasn’t one of the...
Animal Stories · 04. February 2020
All my life I’ve had dogs. Worked with dogs. Been a friend of dogs. The same is true for my husband. We were both raised with dogs as an essential part of a normal family, and I worked in rescues and for vets for years. When we moved continents with nothing but our backpacks, we had to do without a dog for a very long time, every second of it unhappily. We would go nuts over strangers’ dogs and find excuses to hang with them, and we snapped up any house-sitting job with dogs we could find....